Undergraduate Studies – Bachelor's Degree

Spotlight on New and Special Programs
List of undergraduate degree programs (taught in Hebrew)

Structure of Undergraduate Studies

A bachelor’s degree program is usually completed in three years. Studies extend over three-and-a-half years in Law and Occupational Therapy and over four years in Computer Engineering, Nursing, and Pharmacy (including six months of practical training).

The Hebrew University offers the following special programs leading to both an undergraduate and graduate degree upon completion of four-five years: Computer Science & Computational Biology, Honors Program in "Medication Sciences", Revivim Teacher-Training Program in Jewish Studies, and Pre-MBA program for outstanding students in various departments.

An accelerated track for outstanding students, combining BA and MA studies, is offered in the departments of Cognitive Science, Geography, International Relations, Sociology & Anthropology and Statistics, in the Schools of Business Administration (the Alpha Program), Occupational Therapy and Social Work, and in the Faculty of Law.

Undergraduate studies are offered in three different tracks:

  • Single-Major Track: students take a full program of studies in one department. Examples: Medicine; Hotel, Food and Tourism Management.
  • Dual-Major Track: students take courses in two departments, according to both departments program of studies. Examples: Business Administration and Economics; Mathematics and Philosophy.
  • Structured Combined Track: students take courses from two or more departments in a specially designed program. Examples: Combined Program in Philosophy, Economics and Political Science (PAKAM); Psychobiology.

Some faculties offer studies in both dual-major and single-major tracks, as detailed below.

The Amirim Honors Program may be studied with a department from the Single-Major or Structured-Combined tracks. The combination of Amirim with the Combined Program in Philosophy, Economics and Political Science (PAKAM) consists of 198 credits studied over four years.

Faculty of Humanities:

The Dual-Major Track includes programs in two departments plus additional required studies. The major may be chosen from another faculty. Students may choose the Interdisciplinary Program as one of their majors. The Program includes two modules and complementing courses.

The total number of credits must be at least 120 and in some cases, the total number is higher. All Faculty students must study in a dual-major program.

Additional required studies include a tutorial in scientific writing, an online course on Information and Library Resources and courses in the “Cornerstone Program” ( אבני פינה ), as detailed in the faculty catalogue.

Special track in the Department of English: Applicants who meet the general admission requirements, may begin their studies even if they do not meet the Hebrew proficiency requirements. They will need to complete level Aleph in the Summer Ulpan. During their first year of studies, they will take the required courses of the department while completing Hebrew levels Bet and Gimel. From the second year, they will also take courses in their second major or complementary courses, as well as additional required courses, and they will continue to study Hebrew until they reach the exemption level (Ptor). The duration of studies in the program is four years.

Faculty of Social Sciences:

The Dual-Major Track includes two major departments with at least one major from the Faculty of Social Sciences, while the other can be from a different faculty. All first-year students must study in a dual-major or major-minor program.

The Single-Major Track includes one major department in the Faculty of Social Sciences and complementary courses from any faculty, bringing the total number of credits to at least 120. Acceptance to this track is possible only in the second year of study and is based on the student's first-year grades in two departments. Students studying on a part-time basis in the first year will not be able to join the single-major track.

Faculty of Science:

Studies are offered in both the Dual-Major Track (most departments) and the Single-Major Track (all departments except Environmental Studies). Departmental studies can be taken at an expanded scope or regular scope. In the Dual-Major Track it is possible to study two departments at a regular scope or one at an expanded scope and the other at a regular scope.

Link to admission requirements.


Spotlight on New and Special Programs

  • Double degree in Chemistry and Advanced Material Engineering – joint program with Azrieli Engineering College. The program grants a double degree from both institutions and applicants should be accepted to both.
  • Communications and Journalism – new specialization in Political Communication, Strategy and Conflict Resolution. The program starts from the 2nd year and is open to students that excelled in first year courses.
  • Political Science and Education with focus on Social and Educational Leadership. The program is for students who aim at being social activists in the social society and educational field. Applicants must be accepted in the two majors and pass a personal interview.
  • Program in Labor Studies - A new and innovative program, in the dual-major track, designed in cooperation between the Faculty of Social Sciences, Faculty of Law and the School of Business Administration. The program offers courses on workers' rights, labor economy, balancing work and family/leisure, changes in the labor market in the digital era etc. Additional detailes on the website.
  • Statistics: the program offers a specialization in Data Analysis that trains students to work with Big Data Analysis.
    The program also offers a specialization in Actuarial Studies and Risk Management, in combination with a degree in Business Administration or with Economics. The program prepares for the first stage of the qualifying examinations, run by the Actuarial Society. There is also an option for students from other majors to take a module in Actuarial Studies and Risk Management.
  • A new Language Centre has been opened in the Faculty of Humanities. The Centre teaches the courses according to the European standard – CEFR. The languages already taught by the center are German and Chinese and the center plans on teaching also Italian, Japanese, Spanish, Arabic, French and Russian. The center will teach all language courses required by the various departments (e.g. Romance and Latin American Studies, Asian Studies etc.).

List of Degree Programs